

Texas Department of State Health Services

AGENDA Governor's EMS and Trauma Advisory Council (GETAC) Trauma Systems Committee Meeting

Department of State Health Services (DSHS)

Sunday, November 24, 2024 2:30 PM- 4:00 PM Omni Fort Worth, 1300 Houston Street, Ft. Worth Ballroom 4 & 5 Fort Worth, Texas 76102

This meeting will be conducted live and virtually through Microsoft Teams.

Virtual meeting links are posted to the GETAC webpage at <u>www.dshs.texas.gov/dshs-ems-trauma-systems/governors-ems-trauma-advisory-council</u>.

Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair Della Johnson, RN, Brian Eastridge, MD, Alan Tyroch, MD, Council Liaisons Jorie Klein, RN, Elizabeth Stevenson, RN, DSHS

- 1. Call to Order Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 2. Roll Call DSHS Staff
- 3. Reading of the GETAC Vision and Mission Statements Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

GETAC Vision: A unified, comprehensive, and effective Emergency Healthcare System.

GETAC Mission: To promote, develop, and advance an accountable, patient-centered Trauma and Emergency Healthcare System.

- 4. Review and Approval of August 2024 Meeting Minutes Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 5. GETAC Chair Comments Alan Tyroch, MD, GETAC Chair
- 6. Committee Announcements Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
 - a. Applicant Selections: New and Returning
 - b. Departing Members
- 7. EMS/Trauma Systems Update Jorie Klein, MSN, MHA, BSN, RN, EMS/Trauma Systems Director; Elizabeth Stevenson, RN, Manager Designation Unit
- 8. Trauma Center Spotlight Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

Committee discussion and possible action on the following items:

- 9. National Disaster Medical System (NDMS) Integration in Texas Eric Epley, Chair, GETAC Disaster Preparedness and Response Committee
- 10. Stakeholder Report: Texas Trauma Quality Improvement Program (TQIP) Carlos Palacio, MD
- 11. Trauma rules process and status Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 12. 2024 Committee Pillar Review Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
 - a. Data Pillar
 - b. Inclusive Trauma System Pillar
 - c. RAC Communication Pillar
 - d. Financial Health Pillar
 - e. Pediatric Injury Pillar
- 13. Pillar Reports Committee Members
 - a. Data Pillar Update Raul Barreda, MD
 - i. Trauma transfer delays
 - ii. Military-civilian integration in Texas
 - b. Trauma systems update: Data reports and analysis Raul Barreda, MD
 - c. Inclusive trauma system pillar update Lori Adams, RN, and Elizabeth Scherer, MD
 - d. RAC communication pillar update Lori Adams, RN
 - e. Financial health pillar update Kathy Rodgers, RN
 - f. Pediatric Injury Pillar update Howard Pryor, MD, and KaLinda Evans, RN
- 14. Stakeholder Report: Stop the Bleed Texas Coalition
- 15. Injury Severity Score (ISS) Coding/ Trauma Quality Improvement Program (TQIP) Preparedness Workgroup Anne Feeler, RN
- 16. General Public Comment *Comment time may be limited at the Chair's discretion*.
- 17. Summary of action items to present at RAC meeting Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 18. Summary of action items to present at GETAC meeting Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 19. Announcements Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 20. Review and list agenda items for the next meeting Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 21. Next meeting date Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 22. Adjournment Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

Public Comment: The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) welcomes public comments pertaining to topics related to Emergency Health Care. Members of the public are encouraged to participate in this process by providing written public comments to DSHS by emailing <u>deidra.lee@dshs.texas.gov</u> no later than 5:00 PM, November 20, 2024. Please include your name and either the organization you are representing or that you are speaking as a private citizen. Written comments are limited to three minutes and will be read during the meeting for consideration by the Council. The request must contain your name, the name of the organization you represent or that you are speaking as a private citizen, and your direct phone number.

Public comment is limited to three minutes. Speakers must state their name, affiliation, and on whose behalf, they are speaking. Public members who are using handouts are asked to provide an electronic copy in accessible PDF format that

will be distributed by DSHS staff to Council members and state staff and for public distribution. Handouts are limited to two pages of documentation (paper size: 8.5" by 11", one side only). Handouts must be emailed to DSHS by 5:00 PM, November 20, 2024, and include the name of the person commenting.

Note: These procedures may be revised at the discretion of DSHS.

Contact: Questions regarding agenda items, content, or meeting arrangements should be directed to Jorie Klein, DSHS, at 512-535-8538 or <u>Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov</u>.

People with disabilities who wish to attend the meeting and require auxiliary aids or services should contact Jorie Klein at 512-535-8538 or <u>Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov</u> at least 72 hours before the meeting so appropriate arrangements can be made.